top of page

Gov Cuomo Announces Those Traveling to NY From 10 More States Are Required to Quarantine For 14 Days

From: Long Island Board of REALTORS® Sent: Saturday, July 25, 2020 Subject: LIBOR News Update - In Case You Missed This

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced on Tuesday, July 21, that 10 additional states meet the metrics to qualify for the travel advisory requiring individuals who have traveled to New York from those states, all of which have significant community spread, to quarantine for 14 days. The newly-added states are Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington.

The Executive Order will remain in place until further notice, and the New York State Department of Health website will maintain a list showing the “restricted states” on its website at: list of “restricted states” may change depending on the severity of COVID-19 related cases in each state. So licensees must be sure to check the Department of Health’s website on a regular basis. 

NYSAR strongly recommends that as part of a screening process, licensees should inquire if their client/customer has entered NY from another state on or after 12:01 a.m., June 25, 2020. The licensee should be aware of those “impacted jurisdictions” on the DOH website provided above. If the individual is from an “impacted jurisdiction,” the showing should not occur pursuant to the quarantine protocols.

It is likely that any real estate licensee that knowingly conducts a showing contrary to the guidance contained in this document may be exposing themselves to various actions (legal, DOH discipline etc.) as well as exposing themselves and others to potential COVID-19 exposure. Licensees should inquire with their broker as to how such screening should be implemented.

7 views0 comments


bottom of page